Te Ao Hou, Te Ao Tawhito – The Old World, The New World Exhibition

4

Kia ora everybody,

I hope you are all keeping warm and well today while the rest of the storm weather slowly makes its way past the East Coast. We have been treated to some good indoor weather this week… lol… Please be safe out there on the roads and keep an eye on the weather.

First and foremost I would like to mihi to my family, both my mother Deeana and Father Mana as well as my siblings, Nans,Papas, Aunties and Uncles – especially you Uncle Maurice for coming to support me at the opening of Exhibition it meant a great deal for me to have you there on behalf of Nga Uri. For without you none of this would have happened nor would it be important to me. It has taken me a long time to find my place in the world and coming home 7 years ago was just what I needed to find my way, myself and my family.

I’d also like to acknowledge my Nanny Charlotte Pohatu (Mums mum), Uncle Charlie Galloway (Dads brother) and also Jehovah (God) for helping to guide me on this journey of self discovery. It is because of my connection to you that I have found what I needed to complete the story and return it to my whanau. Thank you! In Love, light and spirit I acknowledge you for blessing me with your strength and Love to help me carry on, which is what this is all about.. LOVE

Arohanui Te Whanau a Wi Pere and Nga Uri o Te Kooti this is my tribute to you all… XO

VLUU L100, M100 / Samsung L100, M100

Tihei mauri ora!

Today I thought I would update you on the opening of my Exhibition, ‘Te Ao Hou, Te Ao Tawhito’ hosted by Tirohia Gallery in Kaiti Mall, featuring five local artists all Graduates of Toihoukura School of Maori Visual Arts & Design in Gisborne.

The Artists: Christie Tawhai Patumaka, Bruce Morris, Te Rangi Kutia Tataaurangi, Aromia Ngarangione and Leeana Galloway.

The hosts of Tirohia Gallery: Mana Keefe and Ani Leach featured below receiving contribution from Janene Swann on behalf of BDO and Wi Pere Trustees.

VLUU L100, M100 / Samsung L100, M100

The caretakers of the whole establishment who also look after Ka Pai Kaiti Events and Mana Turanga Office: Tuta & Kaylee Ngarimu and Aunty Polly.

I would just like to say a big thank you to all of the above people who contributed time, effort and support towards the Kaupapa. It means a great deal to me to have you all be a part of this effort to raise this Kaupapa within our communities, amongst our people and our nation.

VLUU L100, M100 / Samsung L100, M100

I would also like to say a big thank you to Janene Swann for coming to meet us on behalf of BDO – and the Wi Pere Trust (trustees) for helping to sponsor this Exhibition and Tirohia Gallery – this is only the beginning of what is yet to come.

The Exhibition is open to view Mon – Sat, 10am-2pm in Tirohia Gallery on left hand side of Kaiti Mall, Kaiti, Gisborne. If you are looking for something to do over the holiday period why not check this out! or if you are in the area please pop in for a look and read about our stories while you are waiting for a Tupa Fade!

Its all about raising awareness as well as supporting one another, especially Tirohia Gallery which is only a young Gallery in Gisborne but has seen a number of Exhibitions held in the space over the course of the year since it opened and has allowed many Local Artists to take up the challenge of exhibiting again.

3

While you’re there see whats happening with Ka Pai Kaiti – events coming up for the community and if you’re wanting to take a stand for our people maybe even check out Mana Turanga and see what they are doing in our community today!

Thanks for reading!

Nga mihi

Lee 🙂

Leave a comment