Ceremony for Tukutuku Installation

Kia ora everybody,

I hope all is well and good with you all and you are having a great week wherever you are. It has been a busy week, working different jobs and changing the lifestyle around a bit. Its not the weekend yet but even so I will still be busy working this one. Not next weekend though.. I hope lol.. Its my birthday! Myt have to go visit my Nan out of town for that one, fingers crossed.. All goes according to plan. Wherever you are.. Take it easy, Have fun and be safe. If you are working like me Kia Kaha! Go hard or go home! Lol.. 😉

Today was an awesome day, I must say, after working in the sheds the past few days my body was feeling like a good rest, unfortunately my brain didn’t want to switch off last night till midnight..lol and then I slept through my alarm this morning which wasn’t the go.. lucky I was prepared lol.. I woke up 30mins before I had to be on the other side of town to attend the ceremony that would see our project started last year and revealed to the school earlier this year be blessed and put on the wall in its final resting place. I was up n go this morning! Lol.. Coffee to go haha..  I think I will take an extra day off next time I have an important hui that early in the morning. Two for that matter! Nevermind! You live and you learn.

So know you know, things aren’t always as perfect as they seem and there is always room for improvement.

On with the big reveal, this morning I walked into the office of Te Wharau School where I was greeted with ‘Just in Time..’ (Thank goodness is what I was thinking) lol. Familiar faces made up of Teachers, Children involved in project and the Principal as well as my friend and colleague, Maiko Lewis who I studied and Graduated with last year from Toihoukura. She was the person who got me on board this project to help the children get an understanding of Tukutuku, what it is, its origins, history, designs and practical skills of Tukutuku work and also to finish the panel.

This was an amazing opportunity for me to get involved in a project like this and I am eternally grateful for the skills and experience I have gained from working with Maiko and these students overtime. They were great all rounder kind of kids, patient, keen to learn and most of all inspired once they knew they were all connected to this artform some way or how and we encouraged them to learn more from their own whanau and where they come from for their personal growth and benefit. It was awesome to see their faces light up when they understood a connection to them, the whenua and their whanu – Tukutuku is a beautiful artform and once you understand the ins and outs of it you will soon see what all the fuss is about.

The buzziest part of this project  for me was that I got to contribute something back to the first school I ever attended back when I was only a teeny bopper along with a lot of my whanau, the school has changed over the years but they seem to have a very talented and caring bunch of staff that do well to look after their students and cater to all their needs as best as possible. Kia kaha! Kia Tu! Kia Ora!

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

I am very grateful that Te Wharau School are continually supported by local whanau too. Like Mr Aston (inbetween Maiko and I) an awesome Kaumatua who brought his beautiful words of wisdom for us all to enjoy and remember. I found out today he is married to an old friend of mine, Mrs Nona Aston. We started Weaving together years ago when Tairawhiti Polytechnic was the name, Te Whare Pora – The Weaving Room still existed and Rawinia Wright was still our Kaiako – she was a beautiful teacher too.

Anyway, we were so blessed today to have Mr Aston come in to do our Karakia and Blessing Ceremony – before and after we put ‘Poutama Wahine, Poutama Tane’  to rest in its new home – so the next time you visit the Main Office at Te Wharau School.. look to your right and you will see a years worth of hard work, preparation, smiles, laughs and tears of the many people, teachers and students that were involved in creating and finishing off this new addition to the Te Wharau whanau, as well as a long history and a legacy to continue – left as a reminder to the Children, Parents and Teachers to ‘Strive for Success – No matter what! and Stay Strong like a Pou!  You are the Future Leaders of the World and We Must Support You and Remember that We All have a part to play no matter what and it is up to us to Change The World One Small Step At a Time.’

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Enjoy! Take care! Be Safe! Trust and Believe In You! I do!

Nga mihi,

Lee 🙂

Leave a Reply

