Trade – Cape for a Tattoo

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Hey there everybody,
Its been awhile hope you are all well. Its a beautiful sunny day here in Gisborne and the wind has just started to kick in the past half hour. I am enjoying being home alone at the moment lol and taking some much needed time to myself.

A lot has been happening the last couple months so heres one of them. A friend/colleague from course had a friend visiting for a couple of weeks from Sweden – skilled in the art of Pointilism Tattoo – without a machine – done with a needle attached to the end of a stick. After viewing his work and finding out he was looking for clients I decided to see if he could draw me up an image of 2 of his designs combined to represent my mothers side and important symbols to her iwi and me of course. He agreed and we decided to trade our work. His tattoo for my Contemporary Hieke (Rain Cape). It was an awesome trade and I will never forget the experience, the man, the art and conversation that happened that day.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Thank you Teho it was a blessing to meet you now I carry a piece of my mum, my Nanny Charlotte and my dad on my skin. I hope all your travels go well and you continue to inspire and influence the many people you meet.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Thank you to Mako who introduced us and let us use his room and sounds as a studio to work also for letting me read his Mau Moko book at the same time which was so fitting for the experience – the spiritual process of getting moko for wahine – although my tattoo is not considered ‘Moko’ to me it still holds the same value and reflects my connection and love for my mother and her whakapapa.

Tihei mauri ora!

Lee πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Trade – Cape for a Tattoo

  1. Hi Lee,

    I have just met Teho on a trail, but I have lost his card, do you perhaps have still his contact details? That would be great!

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

