Todays look at life and Te Kaakahu Whanau

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Hi there,

I hope everbody is enjoying their day and making the most of it wherever you may be. This is not the end, to me it is only just the beginning of a new journey and lifestyle change for those who choose to do so.

Don’t forget we all have free will and in order to use it we have to fight for what we want in life, believe in ourselves and in our dreams then one day in the future we will be able to look back after all the hard work and say ‘Yeah, I did it! I am living my dream.’

So keep the faith people, learn to live, love and laugh in extraordinary ways so that we can all grow and influence those around us to do the same.

Remember the people that have been there since the beginning supporting you throughout and those that helped you in times of dire need. Thank you and love you all whanau and friends that have helped me on my journey with your support and words of wisdom over the years. I could never be grateful enough.

Today I decided to post some pictures of the Kaakahu Whanau I worked on throughout the Term3 Holidaes and into Term4 of course. It was something my mother asked me to make when I first started Weaving about 4 Years ago now with my Tutor at the time, Rawinia Wright and I didn’t think it would happen so soon. Well it just so happened earlier in the year that my Mum and I were talking about my younger sister Allysha Graduating from High School this year and she wanted to get her a Kaakahu/ Korowai to wear.. I immediately volueenteered as I knew I would not be able to attend the ceremony later in the year. That’s where it started.

6 or 7 months later I was looking at my prepped and ready supply of harakeke, muka, kiekie and started drafting ideas for the Kaakahu. At the time I had just finished another big project for the year, ‘Cult Couture 2012’, so it was straight into another one to keep the hands and mind Creatively busy, which I love because of the challenge the experimentation and being able to learn new skills.

The Kaakahu had commenced and I felt real good to be able to do something beneficial for my whanau. The Kaakahu would belong to all my whanau but my Sister would be the first of many to wear it and what better way to do it.. Acknowledging her hard work and determination throughout her schooling and getting a better education for herself, her future and her future whanau- that a lot of young Maori kids miss out on because of lack of support, money or interest. I myself never finished school so I am glad that I was able to see her achieve this level of excellence.

I’d like to send a big mihi out to my parents for solidly supporting her and all of us – your children throughout our lives – wherever we have achieved success or learnt big life lessons – it has partially been because of you- you taught us how to work, how to survive and how to fight for what we want and let us learn through our own mistakes.

To finish I will leave you with pictures of my sister wearing the Kaakahu at her graduation with Mum, Dad and her friend the only other tall Maori at her school.

photo (4)

photo (1)

photo (2)

leash grad

photo (3)

Thanks for reading.

Lee πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

