Taa Moko Wananga 2012

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Kia ora Whanau,

How you all doing? I hope you having a great day.

Today my sister in Australia will be Graduating from High School and will be getting her chance to celebrate tonight.. Too much my sis I’m soo proud of you and I hope everything goes well and you have an awesome day. I also hope your teacher (the one you told me about) respects the kaakahu I made for you to wear. Love you always as well as my whanau going to support her on this special day. Ka mau te wehi!

Well Whanau, you know how I blogged the other day about the Taa Moko Wananga happening at Toihoukura – guess what I got itchy feet and decided to spend my pay this week on a Taa Moko.

 

This week has been a great time to watch and admire the very many talented Maori Artists keeping busy throughout the galleries of Toihoukura. I gladly thank all of them for being here and making the experience ever more enjoyable. I hope you all, the Artists and their clients had a great week and too much for coming all the way to Gizzy to share your mahi.

I would like to make a big shout out to Riki Manuel for the time and effort you put in to drawing me up. I know what I wanted is not something you would usually do but I thank you for taking on the challenge of my requst and doing the most awesomest job I could ever ask for. Thank you again and I hope you and your whanau have a safe travel home today as well as all the other tino ataahua toi mahi.

Thank you for the experience, korero and positivity. I wish you well wherever you may go and I look forward to seeing you all in the future practicing and mastering the art of Taa Moko.

I will now leave you with the photos taken before and after my Moko was completed – thank you to the people who were my photographer yesterday – Tu Meke!

Nga Mihi Nui to you again Riki

and to all you out there thanks for supporting and reading my blog. Thanks!

Leeana. 🙂

Leave a Reply

