Cult Couture Dress

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hey everybody, how you all doing?

Its been awhile hasn’t it. Well I thought I’d better update you on all the things that have happened over the past couple months. It has been busy, busy, busy. So much so, thinking about writing this was just another chore, but now that I have ticked a few of many things off my list to do I can get on with this report. Thank you to those who read my blog and I hope you enjoy what I have in store for you.

The last couple months is usually my busy time of the year when it is fully head down and butt up, like my nan likes to say. So many projects and assignments to do. One of my major projects this year was my entry for Cult Couture 2012 along with 7 other people from Toihoukura who decided this year they were either going to give it a go for the first time or to re- enter the competition a second time.

Cult Couture takes place every year in Auckland at the Telstra Clear Centre in Manukau where many designers from Aotearoa get the chance to have their dress (which is handmade and fully designed by them) worn on the Runway in front of 100’s of people whilst being able to enjoy the stage show, performances and MC inbetween each category of dresses or outfits made for men.

The Categorys range from Obviously Organic, On the Streets, Recycled Revolution, Formally Yours, Matrimonial Bliss and Flight of Fantasy which was the Category I entered my dress into this year. I didn’t win anything but nevamind that wasn’t really the point. It was great to have it chosen along with 5 other entries from course to be showcased at Cult Couture over the long weekend.

Thank you Toihoukura Staff and EIT for helping us get there as well as the support from friends and whanau along the way. Without all of you this would have never happened.

Before our garments were sent away we had a small runway show at Toihoukura where we had to organise our models as well as hair and make-up. My cousin Lee-Sandra was my model whom you can see up the top in the slideshow. I will leave you with these images and will update you on more about Cult Couture in another blog.

Thanks for reading.

Nga mihi nui

Lee 🙂

Leave a Reply

